Company

Founded in 2008 by Jive Faury and Kim Huynh, the company Sens Dessus Dessous works in contemporary circus, at the crossroads of choreographic juggling, object manipulation, visual circus and digital arts.

Since 2009, the company has been exploring artistic forms around the manipulation of objects and the choreographic circus.

The founding show Linea , a piece for two juggler-dancers and 100 m of rope created in 2011, has been performed more than 270 times in France and in around thirty countries across continents (with the support of the Institut Français au Brazil, Colombia, China, Japan, Algeria and 19 African countries, tour in the USA ...).

With the creation in 2015 of (Dis) -cordes , a piece for 7 Circassian artists and 999 m of rope, research around the rope object grew,  using it as a prop, aerial apparatus and an element of scenography.

After working with groups Jive Faury, turned to the more intimate forms : Duet. Rich in experience of multiplicity with (Dis) -cordes , he calls upon the possibilities of video mapping for La Mélodie d'ici et là.

Since this latest creation, digital arts and more specifically video mapping have become a new language of creation that the company uses for various projects combining it with live and choreographic performances (projection mapping on buildings, video art installations).

The Cie Sens Dessus Dessous will participate in April 2022 in the International Festival of Video Mapping in Lille with the "ODE" project.

Historical

 

The Compagnie Sens Dessus Dessous is a contemporary circus company created in 2008 by Kim Huynh and Jive Faury, following their meeting in 2006 within the Cie Jérôme Thomas for the preparation of the first juggled ballet Rain / Bow .

 

They have thus pooled their experiences in various companies including Cie Jérôme Thomas, The Apostrophés, G. Bistaki Jive Faury; Jérôme Thomas, Gandini Juggling and Cie 14.20 for Kim Huynh, and create shorts pieces juggled with balls, clubs and sticks.

 

In their pieces, they merge their juggling practices and highlight the work on the theatricality of movement and the manipulation of objects.

Impregnated with their professional careers and their encounters with choreographic artists, circus artists, musicians and visual artists, they have developed a graphic language focusing their research on choreographic juggling, dance and the manipulation of objects.

 

Far from chained numbers and the search for exceptional prowess, the sought-after poetic act is at the crossroads of disciplines and gives an important place to a theatricality of movement to move towards visual pieces of "choreographic circus".

Compagnie

Créée en 2008 par Jive Faury et Kim Huynh, la compagnie Sens Dessus Dessous œuvre dans le cirque contemporain, à la croisée du jonglage chorégraphique, de la manipulation d'objets, du cirque visuel et des arts numériques.

La compagnie explore depuis 2009 des formes artistiques autour de la manipulation d’objet et du cirque chorégraphique.

Le spectacle fondateur Linéa, pièce pour deux jongleurs-danseurs et 100 m de corde créée en 2011, a été joué à plus de 270 reprises en France et dans une trentaine de pays en traversant les continents (avec le soutien de l’Institut Français au Brésil, en Colombie, en Chine, au Japon, en Algérie et dans 19 pays africains, tournée aux USA...).

Avec la création en 2015 de (Dis)-cordes, pièce pour 7 artistes circassiens et 999 m de corde, la recherche autour de l’objet corde s’est démultipliée, en l’utilisant à la fois comme objet, agrès aérien et élément de scénographie. 

Après cette expérience de grand nombre au plateau, Jive Faury revient à la forme plus intimiste du duo. S’étant enrichi de l’expérience de la multiplicité avec (Dis)-cordes, il décide de faire appel aux possibilités du mapping vidéo pour La mélodie d’ici et là.

Depuis cette dernière création les arts numériques et plus spécialement le vidéo mapping deviennent un nouveau langage de création que la compagnie utilise pour différents projets le mêlant au spectacle vivant et chorégraphique  ( projection mapping sur bâtiment , installations vidéo art, transmission).

La Cie Sens Dessus Dessous participera en avril 2021 au Festival international de Vidéo Mapping à Lille avec le projet " ODE ".

Historique

 

La Compagnie Sens Dessus Dessous est une compagnie de cirque contemporain créée en 2008 par Kim Huynh et Jive Faury, à la suite de leur rencontre en 2006 au sein de la Cie Jérôme Thomas pour la préparation du premier ballet jonglé Rain/ Bow.

 

Ils ont ainsi mis en commun leurs expériences dans diverses compagnies, notamment la Cie Jérôme Thomas, Les Apostrophés, le G. Bistaki pour Jive Faury; Jérôme Thomas, Gandini Juggling et la Cie 14.20 pour Kim Huynh, et créent de petites formes jonglées avec balles, massues et bâtons.

 

Dans leurs pièces, ils fusionnent leurs pratiques jonglistiques et mettent en avant le travail sur la théâtralité du mouvement et la manipulation d’objets.

Imprégnés de leurs parcours professionnels et de leurs rencontres avec des artistes chorégraphiques, circassiens, musiciens et plasticiens, ils ont développé un langage graphique axant leurs recherches sur la jonglerie chorégraphique, la danse et la manipulation d’objets.

 

Loin des numéros enchaînés et de la recherche d’une prouesse exceptionnelle, l’acte poétique recherché est à la croisée des disciplines et confère une place importante à une théâtralité du mouvement pour aller vers des pièces visuelles de « cirque chorégraphique».

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Instagram Black Round